REMINDER: Annual Registrations to the Georgia Secretary of State Due by April 1, 2018
All entities formed or registered to do business in the State of Georgia must file an Annual Registration with the Secretary of State, between January 1st and April 1st of each year, in order to remain in good standing. Filing the annual registration provides a current record of an entity’s management structure, correct mailing address, and registered agent’s name and address.
The annual filing fee is $50 for all entities other than nonprofits ($30) and foreign LLPs ($25); however, there is a $25 penalty for late filing of the annual registration. If you fail to timely file the annual registration, together with all applicable fees, the Secretary of State’s office may administratively dissolve the entity or revoke its authority to transact business in the State of Georgia. If this happens, there is a $250 fee to reinstate the entity if the application to do so is filed within the allowable reinstatement period.
How to File
You may file annual registrations (and pay requisite fees) here. Should you be unable to process your filing online, you can file hard-copy annual registrations in person or mail annual registrations with a check or money order to the Georgia Secretary of State’s office at the Corporations Division in Atlanta, the Professional Licensing Boards Division in Macon, the North Georgia office in Cartersville, or the South Georgia office in Tifton. Mailed applications must be postmarked by April 1, 2018. Cash is not accepted.
Confirm the Accuracy of the Information
Before filing, please confirm whether your entity’s registration is due for the current year. It is extremely important that each entity verify its information prior to filing. Fees paid for filing a registration are nonrefundable. Corrections can only be made by filing another annual registration. Additionally, a person who signs a document he or she knows is false in any material respect with the intent that the document be delivered to the Secretary of State for filing is guilty of a misdemeanor, and if convicted, will be punished by a fine not to exceed $500 (O.C.G.A. § 14-2-129).
Contact Us for Assistance
If you have any questions or would like our assistance with this process, please contact our Corporate Paralegal, Cindy Landreau. You can also call the Secretary of State Corporations Division office at 404-656-2817.